Spicy Asian Slaw with Sausage {PALEO}

I think I have a “life” post banging around in my head, but I’m not ready to write it, and moreover, I’m not sure this is the place to share. So there’s that. You know what else? Yesterday was my birthday! I think birthdays make for lots of introspection; thinking about the changes that took place over the year past, then thinking ahead to the next year. It’s not coincidence that my “life” post and my birthday intersect. And listening to Death Cab doesn’t do much to lift my mood either.

So, let’s do something about that, shall we? Talking about food always gets me excited and this dish is a new favorite around here!  Totally yummy Trader Joe's sausage.I found these amazing spicy Korean sausages at Trader Joe’s a couple of months ago and when I first picked them up I really had no idea what I would do with them. A day or two later I was in the kitchen, it was lunch time and I was on the verge of being hangry! Upon opening the refrigerator door lightening struck my brain and inspiration hit me and BAM! this meal was born: Spicy Asian Slaw with Sausage {PALEO}. The flavors notes of cilantro, cool cabbage, sweet red pepper and nutty sesame make for a well balanced bowl that comes together quickly and tastes great. I’ve fed this one to many and I’m happy to finally get the recipe up for you to enjoy! Here it is: Spicy Asian Slaw with Sausage {PALEO}

Yummy sasuage slaw!

Spicy Asian Slaw with Sausage {PALEO}

  • Servings: 2
  • Time: 10 mins
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Ingredients:
For the Slaw Mixture:

  • 2 spicy Asian style sausages, cut into bite sized pieces
  • 1/4 purple or yellow onion, chopped
  • 1/2 red pepper, chopped
  • ~ 2 cups coleslaw mix
  • ~ 1/2 cup purple cabbage, chopped
  • ~ 1/4 cup cilantro, chopped
  • toasted cashews, for garnish

For the Dressing:  

  • 1 1/2 teaspoon sesame oil
  • 1 1/2 teaspoon lime juice
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon cumin
  • Sriracha, to taste

Directions:

  1. Grab a small skillet and heat enough oil to cover the bottom of the pan.  Add the sausage, onions and red pepper.  Cook stirring occasionally.
  2. While the sausage is cooking, let’s make the dressing.  Using a large bowl mix together all of the dressing ingredients until combined.
  3. Add the cabbage, slaw mix and cilantro to the bowl with the dressing and stir everything together, making sure to coat the slaw.
  4. By now, the sausage and onions should be cooked through; you’re looking for a bit of browning on the sausage and the onions to become translucent and the peppers to be soft.
  5. Spoon the slaw into bowls, add the sausage mixture to the top and garnish with the cashews.
  6. Enjoy!

Notes:

This recipe easily doubles or triples, but tastes best fresh.  If you let it sit around the flavors muddle together and the cabbage becomes less crisp.

You could easily sub any protein of choice for the sausage.  I’ve used leftover steak and loved the result!

If you were really on the ball, you could add some freshly ground ginger to the dressing and fresh, minced garlic.  I was going for quick and easy.

 

Leave a Reply

