Burnt Broccoli Bowl {PALEO}

Confession: I had to learn how to spell broccoli today.  I know, I know, I should have, at some point in my schooling learned how to spell it, but apparently, I’ve been spelling broccoli with two l’s instead of two c’s for a really long time…

I recently learned how to spell lettuce, too.  I’ve never been much of a speller, just ask my mom.

Anyway, today I have an easy meal idea for you, that includes, you guessed it, broccoli!!  I’ll never forget being introduced to burnt broccoli by my friend Tara in San Diego.  Once she dialed me into the deliciousness that is burnt broccoli, I was like…  I don’t know, a crazy broccoli burning girl.  I ate it for a snack and some times we had it at dinner more than twice a week.  It was a major obsession.

But, then one early morning after eating burnt broccoli, Murry got sick; like a stomach bug, and burnt broccoli hasn’t sounded appetizing to him since.  So I haven’t made it.

Until recently.  I’ve modified the original recipe I used to work with and now make my broccoli in the skillet instead of in the oven.  It’s a lot faster cooking method and I don’t have to make as much.  So here you go: Burnt Broccoli Bowl {PALEO}.
Easy Paleo recipe to help you get more greens in to your diet!

Burnt Broccoli Bowl {PALEO}

  • Servings: 1
  • Time: 10 minutes
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • coconut oil
  • broccoli, cut into bite sized pieces
  • garlic, diced
  • salt and pepper to taste

Directions:

  1. Heat about 1 tablespoon coconut oil in a large skillet over high heat.
  2. When the oil is heated add the broccoli and garlic, stir to coat in oil.  Put the lid on your skillet and cook for about five minutes, or until the broccoli turns bright green.
  3. Take the lid off, stir.  Cook the rest of the broccoli to your desired doneness.
  4. Enjoy!!

In the picture above, I paired my broccoli with some purple onions, sausage and walnuts.


Leave a Reply

