Parental Truth #2: Your Kid is Going to Grow Up

I know most of you come here for delicious recipes that are mostly paleo.  But sometimes I feel the need to ramble a bit about being a mom.  This post is a mom rambling.  You’ve been warned.

It’s been two days now that I haven’t gotten my “thingy” upon dropping Emron off at school.  I usually walk him to the corner, give him a quick hug and kiss, he will tell me, “Don’t forget your thingy,” then runs ahead twenty feet, turns back around and blasts hugs and blows kisses my way.  We both mouth “I love you,” before he takes off to begin his day at school.

diy-string-heart-03

As I stood waiting in vain for my extra dose of love today, I lamented on growing up.  I thought on all of the milestones that we so readily embrace; first words, first steps, first days of school.  But what about the lasts?  The last day I got my “thingy.”  The last diaper I ever changed.  The last time I made baby food.  I didn’t write these events down, didn’t keep track of them.  But they are just as valid when it comes to tracking growth, maybe more so.

Do I miss changing diapers?  Heck no!!  But I wish I could go back to that last diaper changed, pause the mechanical motions, and just soak it in.  “This is the last diaper I will ever change, this is a moment that will never happen, ever again.”

Sometimes it feels like we are so quickly racing toward firsts, that we forget to embrace the lasts.

I don’t know what tomorrow will hold; if Emron will remember to do our “thingy.”  If he doesn’t, I have marked the day and I know that the last time I got blasts of hugs and kisses floating in the wind was February 7, 2014.  I am okay with that.  I know that Emron feels secure in his school and at home, because if he didn’t, he wouldn’t be able to go so easily.  Giving him that gift of security feels pretty good, even if it only further proves Parental Truth #2.

Stay warm out there.

4 thoughts on “Parental Truth #2: Your Kid is Going to Grow Up

Leave a Reply

