I Am Project

I stumbled upon the I am… Project a few days ago and found the idea touching.  From the Facebook page creator, the goal of the project is to: flood the internet with more uplifting of kids than shaming of kids.  She goes  on to say:

I am saddened by the amount of kid-shaming photos and stories I see all over the internet.  My proposal is that we flood the world wide web with kid-positivity and uplifting stories and photos.  So, grab a kid (preferably your own; if not get permission) and ask them to finish the sentence, ‘I am…’  Write down what they say (I guarantee it’ll be positive) snap a picture of them holding it and post it everywhere!  Post them here as well and let’s see how many uplifting, positive things we can learn about our children!

I could not wait to let Emron, who is almost six, go crazy with this.  I thought he would have so many good things to say about himself; so many that it would be difficult to make a workable list.  I was a little surprised by his anxious reaction when I asked him to finish the sentence: I am…  Don’t get me wrong, I am glad my kid doesn’t have an inflated ego, but as we talked about ideas of what to write he still seemed a little stressed.  In the end Emron decided to write: I am STRONG. 

I am...

Isn’t he the cutest?

I not am overly praising in my parenting style.  I don’t hand out complements for every-day tasks like brushing your teeth or getting dressed.   But as I watched Emron struggle with this project something inside clicked.  Now I feel re-committed to giving genuine and specific complements.

I am happy to have found the I am… Project.  In participating, I have learned more than I thought I would.  I was oblivious to the “kid shaming” that is all over the internet.  I was also reminded of how integral my role as a parent is.  There is so much truth in the saying that parenting isn’t for the faint of heart!

If you are interested in learning more about the I am… Project, you can check them out on Facebook and Twitter.

Make it a great day!!

 

2 thoughts on “I Am Project

Leave a Reply

