Pretty Food: Lemon Blackberry Scones {PALEO}

It’s no secret that I like pretty food.  I go to extra measures to make sure I have a pretty plate in front of me most of the time.  Call me crazy, but I think food just tastes better when it looks good!  Anyway, I was at the store the store the other day and saw the most perfect looking blackberries.  I’m usually not the biggest fan of blackberries, but these guys were on sale and they looked delicious; so I grabbed some.  I made Lemon Blackberry Scones that the whole family enjoyed.  And I know that I say “the whole family enjoyed” a lot, but, I promise, I’m telling you the truth.  The recipe is basically half of my Cranberry Orange Muffin but the ingredients are slightly different and obviously, these aren’t muffins.  Here they are, Lemon Blackberry Scones {PALEO}.Paleo scones with lemons and blackberries.

Lemon Blackberry Scones {PALEO}

  • Servings: 8
  • Time: active time: 10 minutes, bake time: 15-20 minutes
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/8 cups almond meal
  • 1 1/8 cups cashew meal
  • 1/2 Tablespoon coconut flour
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract
  • 1/8 cup coconut oil, melted
  • 1/8 cup maple syrup
  • 1/8 cup coconut milk
  • 1 egg, lightly whisked
  • juice from half a lemon
  • 1 cup fresh blackberries
  • zest of one lemon

Directions:

  1. Pre-heat your oven to 350 degrees then prepare a nine inch pie pan by lightly oiling it.
  2. In a large bowl whisk together the flours, salt and baking soda.
  3. Add the coconut oil, maple syrup, coconut milk, eggs, and lemon juice to the dry ingredients and stir until just combined.
  4. Fold in the blackberries and lemon zest.
  5. Pour into your prepared pie pan, spreading evenly across the pan.
  6. Bake for 15-20 minutes, until the edges just start to get some color.
  7. Let cool, slice into triangles and enjoy!
  8. Store covered in your fridge.

Oh!  And since I’ve been asked a couple of times, let me tell you: I buy my almond and cashew meal from Trader Joes.  They sell both!  Amazing.

Leave a Reply

