The End of a Year

Today is the last day of 2013, although, technically, some folks in other parts of the world have already rung in 2014.  The passing of another year is a cause for reflection and reminiscing.   I remember having a newborn crying in my arms, feeling frazzled as could be, being told to enjoy it because it goes by so fast.  There is truth in that.  For me, it seems each year passes at an ever increasing rate.  Flying by.

When I look back on the year I feel contentment.  The year started off bumpy, no doubt, but has ended pretty well.  I am happy in our new life in NOVA.  I am beyond grateful that I got to spend two weeks with my sister this year.  It had been almost four years since we had seen each other!  I am thrilled with the health our family has enjoyed, especially little Eli.  I loved our trip to Colorado this fall; seeing family and friends.  I cannot believe how many wonderful people have touched my life this year.  My stomach is happy with all the food it has eaten and my muscles are happy to be getting bigger.  2013 will go down in the books as a good year.

Colourful 2014 in fiery sparklersI hope the coming year provides many opportunities for improvement.  There are a few things specifically I’d like to work on.

I would like to become more of a “yes mom.”  I often find my first response when dealing with the boys is, “no.”  I will work on this; take a step back before responding.

I will strive to spend more one-on-one time with all of my boys.  That means finding a babysitter for date nights, and leaving Murry home with one of boys while I take out the other one.

I will continue to run and lift hard.

We will continue eating a clean diet, and I will continue to take pictures of my food so I can share with you!

I am excited to see what is in store for the new year and I wish you all a Happy New Year.  Stay safe!

Leave a Reply

