Five Ingredient Fudge and Kitchen Fails

Christmas is less than a week away!  I can hardly believe how fast this year has screamed by, but I guess I have to believe it, huh?  I’ve been working on lots of great recipes in the test kitchen, and by test kitchen I mean my home kitchen.  Some with good results and some with not so good results.  And I haven’t posted a recipe in almost a week.  And I’m sorry.  Want to see what happened on my sweet potato waffle attempt number three?

Sweet Potato Waffles Fail

Yeah, so that’s not a keeper.  Though the waffle crumbles did taste pretty good!  And I turned the leftover batter into these suckers:

Spiced Orange Sweet Potato Muffins So, maybe not a total loss, but nothing remarkable, either.  Boo.

While I been sitting around (does anyone even have time to sit around this time of year, and if so teach me your secrets!!)  lamenting my recent cooking fails, I’ve been trying other people’s recipes and will be re-posting some of those soon.  But I’ve also been eating this amazing fudge; it only has five ingredients and tastes a dream.  It’s also really easy to make.  It’s not Paleo, sorry, but worth the cheat for sure.  (I think I have apologized twice times in the post.)  So without further ado, Five Ingredient Fudge:

Five Ingredient Fudge

Five Ingredient Fudge

  • Servings: 24 (2 pieces in a serving)
  • Time: active time: 10 minutes, cooling time: 2 hours
  • Difficulty: medium
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup milk chocolate chips
  • 1 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips
  • 1 – 14 oz can sweetened condensed milk
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 cup chopped walnuts

Directions:

  1. Grab an 8×8 square baking pan.  Line it will plastic wrap.  This is a little tedious, as you want wrap lining every bit of the pan.  Leave enough wrap to have a good amount over hang from the pan.  These will be your handles and help to get the fudge out of the pan.
  2. Use a medium sized saucepan.  Dump the chips and sweetened condensed milk into your pan.  Turn on your burner to LOW, put the pan on.  Stir.  Pay attention.  DO NOT LET YOUR CHOCOLATE BURN!!! Gross, gross, gross.  Be PATIENT!  Stir, stir, stir!
  3. When the chocolate is melted and looks smooth, take it off the heat.  Stir in the vanilla and walnuts.  Place in your prepared dish.  Let set up for at least two hours.
  4. Use your plastic wrap handles to get the fudge out.  Cut into cute little squares and enjoy!  Store in an air-tight container for up to a week.  Maybe longer, but mine has never lasted that long!

4 thoughts on “Five Ingredient Fudge and Kitchen Fails

Leave a Reply

