Cranberry Orange Muffins {PALEO}

I love muffins!  I don’t think I am alone here, but since the passing of Thanksgiving all I find myself doing is craving carb-y sweetness.  Okay, it’s not the only I’ve been up to, I don’t just stand in the kitchen aimlessly dreaming of desserts but you know what I mean…  So yesterday while the plumber was here replacing our garbage disposal I decided to try a new muffin recipe (he might have thought I was a little on the crazy side, but what can you do?).  I’m still learning how to bake with paleo friendly flours so I used this recipe from Bravo for Paleo as a spring board and what I came up with was super delicious and reminded me of my favorite Panera muffins from days before paleo.  Here they are:

Cranberry Orange Muffins {PALEO}

Cranberry Orange Muffins {PALEO}

  • Servings: 12 muffins
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • 2 1/2 cups almond flour
  • 1 Tablespoon coconut flour
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 Tablespoon pure vanilla extract
  • 1/4 cup coconut oil
  • 1/4 cup maple syrup
  • 1/4 cup coconut milk
  • 2 eggs, lightly whisked
  • 1 cup fresh cranberries
  • zest of one orange
  • cinnamon (optional)

Directions:

  1. Pre-heat your oven to 350 degrees then prepare your muffin pan by lightly oiling it.  If you’d rather use muffin cups, go for it, I rather eat ALL my muffin than leave some behind on paper…  But that’s just me!
  2. In a large bowl whisk together the flours, salt and baking soda.
  3. Add the coconut oil, maple syrup, coconut milk and eggs to the dry ingredients and stir until just combined.
  4. Fold in the cranberries and orange zest.
  5. Fill the muffin pad with the batter.  I had enough to fill all twelve spots, but my muffins were a little on the small side.  I’d suggest just doing ten if you want bigger muffins since these don’t rise a ton.  Sprinkle with cinnamon, if desired.
  6. Bake for 22-25 minutes.  Let cool and enjoy!

6 thoughts on “Cranberry Orange Muffins {PALEO}

  1. Pingback: Pretty Food: Lemon Blackberry Scones {PALEO} | fcubed

Leave a Reply

