Asian Marinated Short Ribs {PALEO}

Happy Tuesday!  At least it’s not Monday, right?  Although I had a lovely Monday.  I almost typed “I personally had a lovely Monday,” but then I remembered how I have a pet peeve about “I personally.”  It’s a bit redundant.  Of course when you say “I” it’s you personally; say “I” or “personally” but not both.  My husband doesn’t agree with me on this one and thinks it’s fine to use “I personally.”  I like him nonetheless…

Back to my Monday.  I was able to have lunch with my good friend and neighbor while the littles were in school.  We also got pedicures.  And lunch.  And no kids!  It was g-r-e-a-t!  This sweet friend requested this recipe awhile ago and I’m posting it for her today, because I finally remembered.  I’ve also personally decided that Tuesday is a great day to post recipes that aren’t mine (since that’s what I did last Tuesday).  I promise to only post recipes I’ve made several times, which means they have to be pretty darn good.  This one is for you Ashley:  Asian Marinated Crockpot Beef Spare Ribs from PaleOMG.

Asian Short Ribs

Asian Marinated Short Ribs {PALEO}

  • Servings: 4-6
  • Time: active time: 10 minutes, cooking time: 6-8 hours
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • 4-6lbs grass fed spare ribs (I’ve used short ribs and spare ribs, both work beautifully AND I’ve done less meat but still prepare the same amount of marinade)
  • 1 lime, juiced
  • 3 Tablespoon Coconut Aminos
  • 2 Tablespoon white wine vinegar
  • 1 Tablespoon raw honey
  • 1 Tablespoon sesame oil
  • 2 teaspoon grated fresh ginger
  • 1 teaspoon siracha (or other hot sauce)
  • 2 teaspoon sesame seeds
  • 2 cloves garlic, diced (not in the original recipe)
  • salt and pepper, to taste
  • 4 green onions, chopped (not in the original recipe)
  • 3 Tablespoons sesame seeds, toasted (not in the original recipe)

Directions:

  1. First grab the ribs; salt and pepper them.  Toss them in a shallow baking dish or a gallon sized bag.
  2. Mix the marinate ingredients in a bowl.  Then pour the marinade over the ribs.
  3. Put the ribs in the fridge and let them sit overnight, or a bit longer…
  4. Pour the contents of the dish or bag into your crock pot.  If there’s not enough liquid to cover the meat, it’s okay.  If you are stressed about the lack of liquid, that’s okay, too just add a bit of water or beef broth to the pot.
  5. Cook on low for 6 to 8 hours.  Don’t forget to turn your crock pot on!!
  6. Serve garnished with the chopped green onions and toasted sesame seeds.  Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

