Caldo de Pollo {PALEO}

Yesterday was a food prep, long run, watch football kind of Sunday (way to go Broncos!!!).  We thought about grabbing dinner out and about but nothing sounded good and the house rule is that if nothing sounds good then don’t eat out.  So dinner became a soup, guac and sweet potato chip affair.  I’ve been making this Caldo de Pollo for several years.  It’s a great recipe and if I had a chicken carcass I wouldn’t have strayed from it, but I had chicken breasts and chicken stock so I improvised.  Also, I was feeling a bit on the lazy side and never looked up exact ingredients and measurements; I just winged it.  The result was delicious, if I say so myself.  But, I don’t have to say so all by myself, the whole family enjoyed their meal, too.  Here’s what I did:

Callo de Pollo

Caldo de Pollo {PALEO}

  • Servings: 4-6
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • 3 cups chicken breast (I used 2 large breasts), diced
  • 20 cloves garlic, chopped
  • 1 smallish red onion, chopped
  • 1 1/2 cup carrots, chopped
  • 1 1/2 cup celery, chopped
  • 1 – 14 oz can diced tomato
  • 1 – 7 oz can salsa verde (make sure there’s nothing funky in it)
  • 3 cups chicken broth
  • 3 cups water
  • Juice of one lime
  • 1 teaspoon oregano
  • 1/2 teaspoon cumin
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • Cilantro for garnish

Paleo friendly fat of choice

Directions:

  1. Using a large soup pot; heat about a tablespoon of your oil to medium high heat.  Salt and pepper the chicken breasts and when the oil has come to temperature put them in the pot.  Cook about 3-5 minutes per side.  When the breasts are done, put them aside to cool.  Once they are cooled you can go ahead and chop them up.
  2. Don’t clean your pot, instead look inside.  How much oil is left?  You are going to sauté your onions and garlic next, so if you’ve got enough oil toss them in the pot.  If not, add a little more oil then add the onions and garlic.  Cook about 5-7 minutes or until translucent.  Make sure to scrape up the browned chicken bits that are left in the pot, this is going to add to the flavor of the soup, trust me!  Once the onions are cooked add the celery and carrots.  Give them a good toss.
  3. Next, add the wet ingredients.  Dump in the chicken broth, can of tomatoes, salsa and water.  Note: if you want to have a stronger chicken flavor, use all broth and no water.  I only had 3 cups broth so that’s what I used.  Juice your lime over the pot and add the spices.  Bring the soup to a boil.  Reduce the heat to low, cover and let simmer for 30 minutes or until the carrots and celery are tender.  Serve with a little cilantro for garnish.  Enjoy.

Leave a Reply

