Leftovers for Lunch: Spinach Under Everything {PALEO}

Happy Friday!  I’m not sure about you, but I’ve had a crazy week and I’m ready for a little break.  Yup, that’s all I have to say about that.

On to food!  So, for today’s Leftovers for Lunch I’m going to share one of my favorite ways to liven up your leftovers.  It’s quick and easy and adds  little punch to whatever you’re re-heating: Sautéed spinach.  Okay, I know some of you might be thinking “seriously?”  But indulge me for a second here…  Some days you have meat loaf or easy eggplant Bolognese or stuffed mushrooms and you think “That sounds good, but I need something green.”  A salad doesn’t sound great…  You’re stuck, eat the meat without a green or you can make this spinach.  Here’s what you do:

Stuffed Mushrooms over Spinach

Spinach Under Everything {PALEO}

  • Servings: 1-2
  • Time: 5 minutes
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • spinach
  • salt and pepper
  • red pepper flakes
  • balsamic vinegar
  • paleo friendly fat of choice (I usually use olive oil, but bacon fat would be divine.)

Directions:

  1. Heat your fat in a large skillet to medium high heat.
  2. Add the spinach.  I use a few big handfuls, it cooks way down.  Toss to coat with the fat then put the lid on the skillet for a minute or two.
  3. Take the lid off, turn the heat off.  Stir a bit more.  The spinach should be pretty wilted at this point.  Add salt and pepper to taste then hit it with a pinch or two of red pepper flakes.  Then lightly drizzle with the vinegar.  Serve and enjoy.
  4. Extra greens for the day and you didn’t even have to pick up a knife.  Woot!  It’s worth noting that sautéed garlic goes well in this dish.  I’ve used white balsamic as well as traditional and liked that the white version didn’t make the spinach look brownish.

3 thoughts on “Leftovers for Lunch: Spinach Under Everything {PALEO}

  1. Pingback: My Favorite Green Smoothie {Paelo} | fcubed

  2. Pingback: Leftovers for Lunch: Turkey Bowl {PALEO} | fcubed

  3. Pingback: Lunchtime: More Spinach {PALEO} | fcubed

Leave a Reply

